Shri Mamleshwar Jyotirling

Shri Mamleshwar Jyotirling



Omkareshwar (IAST: Ōṃkārēśvar) is a Hindu sanctuary devoted to God Shiva. It is one of the 12 venerated Jyotirlinga hallowed places of Shiva. It is on an island called Mandhata or Shivapuri in the Narmada stream; the state of the island is said to resemble the Hindu ॐ image.

There are two principle sanctuaries of Lord Shiva here, one to Omkareshwar (whose name signifies "Master of Omkaara or the Lord of the Om Sound") situated in the island and one to Amareshwar (whose name signifies "Undying ruler" or "master of the Immortals or Devas") situated on the south bank of Narmada River on the terrain. According to the sloka on dwadash jyotirligam, Mamleshwar the other name of Amareshwar is the jyotirling, regardless, many consider both Omkareshwar and Mamleshwar similarly consecrated and agent of jyotirling at this holy spot.


According to Shiv Mahapuran, when Brahma (the Hindu God of creation) and Vishnu (the Hindu God of Protection and Care) had a contention as far as matchless quality of creation. To test them, Shiva punctured the three universes as an enormous unending mainstay of light, the jyotirlinga. Vishnu and Brahma split their approaches to downwards and upwards individually to discover the finish of the light in either bearings. Brahma lied that he discovered the end, while Vishnu yielded his annihilation. Shiva showed up as a second mainstay of light and reviled Brahma that he would have no spot in services while Vishnu would be adored until the finish of time everlasting. The jyotirlinga is the preeminent partless reality, out of which Shiva mostly shows up. The jyothirlinga holy places, in this manner are places where Shiva showed up as a red hot segment of light. Initially there were accepted to be 64 jyothirlingas while 12 of them are viewed as extremely propitious and holy.Each of the twelve jyothirlinga destinations take the name of the directing divinity - each thought to be diverse indication of Shiva. At all these destinations, the essential picture is lingam speaking to the beginningless and perpetual Stambha column, symbolizing the interminable idea of Shiva.

The twelve jyothirlingas are Somnath in Gujarat, Mallikarjuna at Srisailam in Andhra Pradesh, Mahakaleswar at Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh, Omkareshwar in Khandwa ] in Madhya Pradesh, Kedarnath in Himalayas, in Uttrakhand state, Bhimashankar in Maharashtra, Viswanath at Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh, Triambakeshwar close Nashik in Maharashtra, Vaidyanath Jyotirlinga, Deogarh in Jharkhand , Nageswar at Dwarka in Gujarat, Rameshwar at Rameswaram in Tamil Nadu and Grishneshwar close Aurangabad, Maharashtra in Maharashtra.


It is arranged in the Khandwa region of Madhya Pradesh state in India. It is around 12 miles (20 km) from Mortakka in Madhya Pradesh. Omkareshwar is shaped by the consecrated stream Narmada. This is a standout amongst the most consecrated of streams in India and is presently home to one of the world's greatest dam ventures. The sanctuary is arranged on Mandatha island on the banks of Narmada and stream Kaveri (a tributary of Narmada). The island is 2.6 km2 (2,600,000 m2) in zone and can be drawn nearer by vessels.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published


Just added to your cart:
Excl. postage 
My Bag
Just added to your wishlist:
Excl. postage 
My Wishlist