2019 Indian general election

2019 Indian general election



The 543 elected MPs will be elected from single-member constituencies using first-past-the-post voting. The President of India nominates an additional two members from the Anglo-Indian community if he believes the community is under-represented.

Eligible voters must be Indian citizens, 18 or older, an ordinary resident of the polling area of the constituency and possess a valid voter identification card issued by the Election Commission of India. Some people convicted of electoral or other offences are barred from voting.

Earlier there were speculations that the Modi Government might advance the 2019 general election to counter the anti-incumbency factor, however learning from the past blunder of preponing an election made by the Vajpayee Government it decided to go into election as per the normal schedule which was announced by Election Commission of India (ECI) on 10 March 2019, after which Model Code of Conduct was applied with immediate effect.

Indian Election schedule

The election schedule was announced on 10 March 2019, and with it the Model Code of Conduct came into force.

Election Dates of Indian General Election, 2019

Election schedule

The election is scheduled to be held in seven phases, with counting starting on 23 May. In Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal, the election will be held in all seven phases. The polling for the Anantanag constituency in the state of Jammu and Kashmir will be held in three phases, the first of its kind.


A number of issues are expected to be of importance in this election. These include the country's recent conflict with Pakistan, The 2017 China India border standoff or Doklam standoff, Losing the neighbourhood], Aadhaar , UN report shows PM Modi's foreign tours a, The National Judicial Appointments Commission Bill, 2014, SC/ST Act amendment,123rd Amendment) Bill, 2018 that seeks to provide constitutional status to the National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC), Cow protection-related violence in India , Ghar wapsi campaigns, Entry of women to Sabarimala, Ram temple, Black Money , Bank Fraud Cases Disinvestment of Public Sector Units, Electoral bonds Failure of Schemes: Namami Gange mission Swach Bharat, Adopt a Heritage scheme GDP, Total liabilities , Implementation of demonetisation], Language, NPAs , Price Rise, Privatisation], Uniform civil code, unemployment, and national security.

Alleged institutional undermining

Opposition parties have claimed that the NDA government is destroying democratic institutions and processes. The judiciary, parliament, media, Reserve Bank of India, Central Bureau of Investigation, Right to Information Act are claimed to have been undermined by the government. Opposition parties have campaigned heavily on this issue.

In response, Modi termed the allegations "a big joke", commenting that Congress and the communists had themselves undermined institutions including the police, CBI and the CAG, and cited the murder of BJP activists in Kerala and Madhya Pradesh.

Citizenship amendment bill 2016

Main article: Citizenship Amendment Bill 2016

The citizenship amendment bill brought to parliament plans to allow persecuted minorities of the countries born due to partition of British India (such as Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan) into Indian citizenship. The bill has led to political backlash in Assam and caused unrest in other parts of India's northeast, with protests by ethnic Assamese groups.On 7 January 2019, 70 organisations across Assam observed "Disgust Day" and protested the bill. On 29 January 2019, 10 Northeast India political parties and National Democratic Alliance ally Janata Dal (United) met in Assam and decided to oppose the bill.

On 8 February 2019, Modi began a visit to three northeast states. To protest against the bill, the All Assam Students Union raised slogans and raised black flags to prime minister Narendra Modi in Guwahati. Due to protests, restrictions on assembly were imposed in Guwahati under Section 144 of the Code of Criminal Procedure. Asom Gana Parishad staged a march with torches. In March 2019, the Asom Gana Parishad returned to the BJP-led NDA and NEDA alliances.

National security

Further information: India–Pakistan border skirmishes (2019) and 2019 Balakot airstrike

The country's ongoing conflict with Pakistan is predicted by CNN to be a significant factor in this election. In response to the 2019 Pulwama attack, the Indian Air Force conducted airstrikes inside Pakistan — for the first time since 1971.

The opposition accused Modi of politicising the army, whilst the BJP countered the accusation, alleging they were chipping away at the morale of India's armed forces.


As of at least 7 February 2019, the NDA government denied the existence of any job crisis. Prime minister Narendra Modi claimed that jobs are not lacking but data on jobs has been lacking. Government has delayed releasing of the official report on unemployment. Two government officials, including the acting chairperson of National Statistical Commission, resigned, protesting the withholding of the Annual Survey on Employment and Unemployment for the year 2017–18. A leaked version of the report showed unemployment rate in India at a 45-year high during 2017–2018. The government has claimed that the report was not final.

Agrarian and rural distress

Within the last few years, the agrarian situation has deteriorated in the country. The government however, in the Union Budget of 2019 announced a relief for small farmers by directly depositing ₹6000 to their accounts in three installments. The opposition accused this as being an attempt to lure voters.


Phase Date Constituencies States and Union Territories
11 April 91 20 Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Odisha, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep
2 18 April 97 13 Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Puducherry
3 23 April 115 14 Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Goa, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu
4 29 April 71 9 Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal
5 6 May 51 7 Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal
6 12 May 59 7 Bihar, Haryana, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Delhi
7 19 May 59 8 Bihar, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, West Bengal, Chandigarh, Uttar Pradesh

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published


Just added to your cart:
Excl. postage 
My Bag
Just added to your wishlist:
Excl. postage 
My Wishlist